The Republic of Kenya is a unitary State divided into 47 counties. The country is run by the National Government and 47 county governments.

The two levels of government work in close consultation as espoused in article 6 subsection 2 of the Constitution of Kenya which states that “The governments at the national and county levels are distinct and inter-dependent and shall conduct their mutual relations on the basis of consultation and cooperation”.

Further, and for smooth running and coordination between the governments, the Constitution in the fourth schedule clearly outlines National and County government functions.


National Government

I) The Executive

President of the Republic of Kenya

Deputy President of the Republic of Kenya‎


II) The Parliament/ Legislature


III) The Judiciary



IV) Ministries

Ministry of Interior and Co-ordination of National Government


Ministry of Defense


The National Treasury and Planning


Ministry of Foreign Affairs


Ministry of Industry, Trade & Co-operatives


Ministry of Health


Ministry of Agriculture, Livestock, Fisheries and Irrigation


Ministry of Transport, Infrastructure, Housing, Urban Development and Public Works


Ministry of Devolution and the ASALS


Ministry of Information, Communication and Technology (ICT)


Ministry of Sports, Culture and Heritage


Ministry of Education


Ministry of East African Community (EAC) and Regional Development


Ministry of Labour and Social Protection


Ministry of Tourism and Wildlife


Ministry of Environment and Forestry


Ministry of Water and Sanitation


Ministry of Lands and Physical Planning


Ministry of Energy


Ministry of Petroleum and Mining


Ministry of Public Service, Youth and Gender

County Government

The Constitution of Kenya 2010 has delineated the country into 47 regions/county governments as listed below. Investors are therefore at liberty to visit the websites and contact the county governments for more information.


1. Baringo County


2. Bomet County


3. Bungoma County


4. Busia County


5. Elgeyo/Marakwet County


6. Embu County


7. Garissa County


8. Homa Bay County


9. Isiolo County


10. Kajiado County


11. Kakamega County


12. Kericho County


13. Kiambu County


14. Kilifi County


15. Kirinyaga County


16. Kisii County


17. Kisumu County


18. Kitui County


19. Kwale County


20. Laikipia County


21. Lamu County


22. Machakos County


23. Makueni County


24. Mandera County


25. Marsabit County


26. Meru County


27. Migori County


28. Mombasa County


29. Murang’a County


30. Nairobi County


31. Nakuru County


32. Nandi County


33. Narok County


34. Nyamira County


35. Nyandarua County


36. Nyeri County


37. Samburu County


38. Siaya County


39. Taita Taveta County


40. Tana River County


41. Tharaka Nithi County


42. Trans Nzoia County


43. Turkana County


44. Uasin Gishu County


45. Vihiga County


46. Wajir County


47. West Pokot County